Posted by: lle2010 | January 10, 2010

Week 2

Yesterday, Saturday January 9th, my partner Deb ran her first half marathon (13.1 miles) at Walt Disney World.  Anyone who has ever trained for such an event knows what kind of commitment is made to do this accomplishment.  She did an amazing  job!  She finished the race in 3 hours and 23 minutes with a pace of 15:29 minutes per mile.  I am so proud of her! 

For this  week’s post, I knew I wanted to do something with the Marathon.  I tried to take as many photos during the race but the weather was not cooperating.  Believe it or not the runners encounter wind, rain, sleet, and yes snow flurries in Florida!  It was anything but a walk through the park.  I was looking through my images trying to decide which one to use and I noticed Deb’s wet shoes sitting on the balcony and thought, what the heck.  I came up with the following. 

Now you will notice that I have posted two images. I preferred the black and white image, Deb the color one.

To spark a little conversation, which one do you prefer and why? 

                    

Canon 40D           24mm   f14  1/80 second  Red Filter

 Canon 40D   24 mm   f14   1/80 second

Responses

  1. This is going to throw some but I am distracted by the red tag and the yellow floor. I prefer the B&W.

  2. hi linda,

    well this is not my favorite pic. Given the choice i find the black and white more interesting. But I am a sucker for B&W.

    Tom

  3. Thank you for your comments! It is always fun to hear what others think of a photo. As I mentioned, I like the black and white one for the artistic point. I think we sometimes forget how powerful b&w can be. When I took classes years ago, all of our photos were b&w and it really gave me an appreciation as to what b&w can convey. I think that any kind of art, should spark a conversation.

  4. Leeenda,
    Well, I’m not very excited about either photo (black and white or color). Sorry, the pictures seemed bland…didn’t really capture a feeling for me. As for the photos in and of themselves they were good, but again, I don’t know enough about the mechanics of photography to give constructive criticism in that area.

  5. Love the photos, especially the color one. I agree the red tag really pops out. Too bad the pic doesn’t show how soaked with water the sneakers are LOL.

  6. I only noticed the numbered band in the color photo and agree…it has something to say and should be “heard”.

  7. Linda, congrats on this blog – I can’t wait to see what you add each week!

    Artistically, I like the black and white shot best. But that simple orange band grabs me because it means an accomplishment that I (and my feel, lol) understand very well.

    Good job so far – keep on shooting!

  8. I like the black and white, it seems that is what the weather was like according to your description. My niece told me that planes in Tampa were delayed on Thursday due to icing. No deicer in Florida.


Leave a Reply

Categories

