Posted by: lle2010 | January 17, 2010

Week 3

Yesterday I visited Gettysburg National Military Park in Gettysburg, PA.  If you ever have the opportunity to visit, do so.  It is an amazing park.  There is a new visitors center that welcomes you and brings the three-day battle to life.  Each time I visit, I find it unbelievable that there were over 51,000 casualties in that one battle. 

There are many ways to tour the park.  You may take a guided tour with a Park Ranger, walk on your own, or do a self driving tour.  The self driving tour encompasses 24 miles and has 16 tour stops. You can stop at any of the various monuments to read about the battle and take photos.  When I look out over the battlefield, I can’t imagine the horror that took place in those three days. 

I took many photos yesterday and was having a difficult time choosing my favorite.  I decided to go with three selections this week.  The first is a photo of a soldier charging into battle.   He stands atop one of the monuments, I believe dedicated to the fighting men of Missouri.

I like the way he is silhouetted against the gray sky.

Canon 40D   80mm   f11   1/400 second   ISO 100

This is one of the hiking/horse back riding trails I came upon.  I like the black and white image over the color.  I think this has more feeling to it.  I think it captures a winter feel.  This is my favorite of the three.

Canon 40D   50mm   F10   1/200 second   ISO 100

The fence is what first caught my attention.  I took several photos at different angles.  This gives me the feeling of a crisp day.  That small patch of snow with the bright blue sky screams…there’s a chill in the air.

Canon 40D   18mm   F10   1/250   ISO 100

Responses

  1. Great Gettysburg photos, Linda. I love the fence and its lines. I also was impressed when I visited the battlefields for the first time last year! If you get a chance, I’d appreciate your visiting my Gettysburg photos on WordPress or flickr. Thanks, Mitch

  2. I am so going to enjoy your project! You are inspiring me.

    I am torn with this group – the colors are so bold and even thought I know it was taken in February to me it is early spring, but remember that is what Michigan looks like in spring – lol.

  3. All three are done very well. I like the trial photo in B & W the best

    • Thanks, Fay. I hope to do more B&W in the future. Plus I think winter has a B&W feel.

  4. Great job on week #3. All great pictures, I think I like the black and white shot of the fence best. But it is hard to say for sure as all 3 are very nice pictures.

    • Thanks Wanda and Tom. My favorite is the hiking/horseback riding trial as well. I was standing on a hill when I spotted the trail and knew I wanted to photograph it. Again, I shot the trail at various angles to get the one I really liked.

  5. Awesome photos Linda. My favorite is the horsebackriding trail. Very cool. Keep up the good work. Wanda


Leave a Reply

Categories

