Posted by: lle2010 | February 21, 2010

Week 8

This past week I returned home from a wonderful eight-day cruise in the Caribbean.  I left out of BWI airport about one hour before the airport shut down due to the blizzard coming into the area.  I must say, I had mixed feelings about leaving before the impending storm was to hit.  But, this trip had been planned for a year and I was going to meet up with several other folks to enjoy the warm weather. 

There were four ports of call, St. Maarten, St. Thomas, San Juan and Labedee.  Each port has plenty of sunshine, warm weather and beautiful scenery.  Here are a few of my favorite photos from the trip.

In St. Maarten, Deb and I decided to just take a walk around town.  The ship docked on the Dutch side and we took a short walk to the water taxi.  The taxi dropped us off in town and we did a little window shopping, ate some ice cream and took some photos.

This is a photo of the altar at the Anglican Church on Backstreet.  I wanted to take more photos of this quaint church, but folks were praying and I didn’t want to disturb anyone.  What attracted me were the arches.

Canon EOS 40D  18-200 mm at 50 mm  f7.1   1/100 second   ISO 1000

This was taken just outside of the entrance to the church. 

Canon EOS 40D   18-200mm at 18mm   f13   1/400 second   ISO 100

This was taken on the shore near the center of town.  I have to say, I thought of my family and friends back home battling the snow and was glad I was looking out on this warm beautiful sight.

At St. Thomas I decided not to leave the ship.  I enjoyed the day exploring the ship, taking photos, relaxing by the pool and enjoying some adult beverages.  This was the view from the ship looking out on the bay.

Canon EOS 40D   18-200mm at 40mm   f9   1/160 second   ISO 100

This next photo is just for fun.  There was a lot of money parked out there in the bay.  Here are three yachts in a row.  Notice how each one gets larger and on the largest one, notice the helicopter…now there is someone with BIG BUCKS!

Next week I will post photos from San Juan and Labadee.  In the meantime, to all my friends in the cold climate stay warm and know that Spring really is just around the corner!

Responses

  1. They’re all beautiful but my fave is the bottom one. I love photos of my yacht! Scott may think my helicoter is gawdy but I wouldn’t go anywhere without it.

    I love the colors in that last shot – gorgeous.

  2. All I can say is how could you leave? I just soaked up the blue sky something I haven’t seen in a couple of week. Both church photos are beautiful.

    Ah, I’m not greedy so I’ll take the middle yacht. Having a helicopter is just too gaudy for my tastes. 😉

  3. I love your compositions, especially the framing of the arches in the church interior! (Of course, coming from St. Louis I may be programmed to like arches! ) But sincerely, the photos are beautiful; makes me wish I was there with you!

    • Thank you, Joan. The church photo is my favorite for this week. I really am drawn to arches as well!

  4. This next to the last photo really appeals to me — visually interesting, the way the boats dot the water, just as the houses dot the hillside. Gorgeous colors in the church shot. Loving your work! x

    • Thanks Deb! Hope I can continue to bring interesting photos your way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

