Posted by: lle2010 | March 7, 2010

Week 10

Yesterday my sister-in-law, Debbie, and I visited the Washington National Cathedral.  It had been sometime since I was there last, and as it turns out this was her first visit.  The day was beautiful…sunny sky but breezy and chilly.  That was ok as we did not have to shovel snow or look at rain!

The foundation stone for the Cathedral was laid in 1907 and 83 years later in 1990 the “final finial” was placed.  The Cathedral is built of Indiana limestone and is the sixth largest in the world.  Its design is unique and not copied from any other building.  To learn more about the Cathedral visit their official web site, www.nationalcathedral.org.

There is so much to see and photograph.  My neck hurt when we left, because I was constantly looking up.  The architecture is in the Gothic style.  Everything about it, the great height, pointed arches, large windows brings your eye upward.  The stained glass is large and beautiful. 

The first photo is of the front.

Canon EOS 40D  18-200mm at 18mm  f10  1/250  ISO100

The Catherdal is home to many gargoyles.  There are all types including a Darth Vadar one!  Here is a sample of one of the gargoyles.

Canon EOS 40D  18-200mm at 200mm  f6.3  1/200  ISO100

Whenever I enter the Catherdal, I feel small.  The space and height of the ceiling is breathtaking.  The stain glass is so beautiful.  We were there on a sunny day and the colors in the stained glass danced on the walls.  This is one of the three rose windows.

Canon EOS 40D  18-200mm at 130 mm  f5.6  1/60  ISO 3200

This is the High Altar.  I think this gives a feel for just how high the ceiling is.

Canon EOS 40D  18-200mm at 18mm  f5  1/60  ISO 3200

This view is looking out to the Nave from the High Altar.

Canon EOS 40D  18-200mm  at 18mm  f4.5  1/50  ISO 3200

This next one is my favorite.  It was taken from the 7th floor through one of the windows.  If you ever visit the Catherdal, take a few minutes and go up to the 7th floor.  You can see all of Washington, DC.  I could clearly see the Washington Monument, the Capital and the Kennedy Center.  You also get a chance to view some of the detail of the architecture of the building.

Canon EOS 40D  18-200mm  at 110mm  f10  1/400  ISO200

Responses

  1. When I visited England a few years ago, I was amazed at the large and old cathedrals. Every large town and city had one or two of them. They are hard to photograph because of the size of them. You have done a great job with only a 18mm (cropped) lens. Really like the Nave photo and the detail shot at the end.

  2. Hi Linda,
    Once again you’ve posted some very interesting photos. I particularly liked the shot looking from the nave to the high alter. The colors were vibrant and it gave a since of silence at the same time.

    Keep up the good work!

    • Thanks, Wanda. I’ll keep trying!

  3. Thanks, Barrie. I had to hand hold the camera for all the shots. I’m not sure if a tri pod is allowed in the Cathedral. I should have asked. I have always liked working in black and white. I too am noticing a pattern. I hope to continue to develop and grow into my own style.

  4. Nice Linda – you nailed the exposure on these. I think photos like this are really hard, when it’s dark inside with light coming through a window. Yours look great! That last one is my fave too. I like how the shadows line up with the architecture. These black and white, old world architecture shots are your niche – I have liked them all.


Leave a Reply

Categories

