Posted by: lle2010 | March 14, 2010

Week 11

This week I have a few photos from the cruise I took in February.  These are the last ones from that trip.  I had promised them last week, but when I visited the Cathedral I was excited to get those posted. 

This first photo was taken  on Royal Caribbean’s the Independence of the Seas.  This ship is huge and it isn’t even the largest in the fleet!  It has 14 decks and this was taken from Deck 5.  It is a view looking up to the mid ship elevators.

Canon EOS 40D  18-200mm at 18 mm  f5  1/50  ISO 800

I like getting up early on a ship and walking the deck at sunrise.  It is usually very peaceful and I get to see the ship in a different light.  This was taken at sunrise and I like the way the morning light touches and warms the scene.

Canon EOS 40D  18 to 200 mm at 18 mm  f5.6  1/80  ISO 100

This next photo will hopefully open your mind and imagination by looking at an ordinary subject and seeing something different.  This is one of the ships masts and as you can see it houses quite a bit of navigational equipment.  I call this “Smiling Robot”.  Do you see it?

Canon EOS 40D  18-200 mm at 70 mm  f11  1/320  ISO 200

Responses

  1. Another great set Linda! I’d love to see that first one printed, in large format. It’s got great lines and colors. The robot is really cute too!

    • Thanks, Barrie. It’s funny, I was just telling Deb that I was hesitate to post these photos. I wasn’t sure they were “good”. Everyone has surprised me with their comments. I guess I am a bit critical of my work.

  2. These are wonderful. Maybe the ship is a Transformer? 🙂

    • Oh, I didn’t think about that…Transformer…ummm.

  3. Great photos girl! Cruise, what a way to go…..I have only been on one and it was so very relaxing. I could get use to that very easily. My favorite part was just sitting on the deck and drinking a glass (bottle) of wine. We went to Canada and down the coast.

    • We have been on several crusies and yes they are relaxing! It is nice to sit on the deck and enjoy that wine. One of our past times as well.

  4. Wanted to add — I can see the face in the third photo, too. Reminds me a little of those commercials that are running now showing smiley or sad faces on inanimate objects. Very interesting.

    • Yes! It reminded me of those commericals as well.

  5. Absolutely love these, especially the first photo — really love the perspective. It’s very dramatic!

    • Thanks, Deb. I think the first one gives a pretty good presepective of the size of the ship.

  6. Thanks, Cindy. The first one made me a little dizzy taking it…lol.

  7. The first photo makes me a little dizzy. I like it!
    The third looks a little like a photo of the Iron Giant’s buddy. Cool!


Leave a Reply

Categories

