Posted by: lle2010 | May 3, 2010

Week 18

This week I had the opportunity to visit two locations in Baltimore, Cylburn Arboretum http://www.cylburnassociation.org/ and Sherwood Gardens http://www.guilfordnews.com/sherwood/.

These two locations offer a wonderful opportunity to take photos of flowers, stroll through the gardens or just have a picnic and enjoy the day.  Unfortunately, we had a cold snap a few days before my friend Amanda and I visited each location.  As a result most of the tulips were on their last leg and the peonies weren’t far behind.  But, we persevered and as a result I was able to capture a few beautiful flowers.

Canon EOS 40D  18-200mm  at 70 mm  f18  1/800  ISO 400

Canon EOS 40D  18-200 mm at 200mm  f14  1/1250  ISO 400

Canon EOS 40D  18-200 mm at 200mm  f14  1/1000  ISO 400

Canon EOS 40D  18 – 200 mm at 200 mm  f10  1/500  ISO 200

Canon EOS 40D  18 – 200 mm  at 50 mm  f9  1/160  ISO 400

Responses

  1. Great photos, love the tree too. Your camera is much clearer and sharp, I need to send mine away for some maintenance. Beautiful peony shots as well.

    • Thanks, Robin. Yes, the camera is much more in focus. I have thanked my brother many times since I got mine back. If he hadn’t suggested it, I would still be working with the uncalibrated camera. And wondered why things weren’t they way they should be.

  2. Its the tree…awesome!

  3. Thank you everyone! My favorite was the first peony. I am thrilled that everyone is drawn to the tree. I have to tell you it is an amazing tree. There are about 3 or 4 and they form the most beautiful canopy. I thank my friend Amanda for showing it to me. She tells me in the fall the leaves are a brillant red. I do believeI will be visiting that spot later in the season.

  4. Hi Linda,

    Love these nature photos. I especially liked the trees photo. The shape of the trees and the light and shadows make a great photo.

  5. I can almost smell the flower in the first shot…and the screwy tree is very cool!

  6. Amanda, I can’t wait to see what you did. Get those images downloaded! Joan, thank you. I really like the white peonies, but the tree seems to be a big hit.

  7. Impressed by the close details in the flowers, but the tree is breathtaking!! Wonderful shot.

  8. And I’m still trying to find time to download mine to the computer! Lovely work, Missy! We had a great time and must do rerun.


Leave a Reply

Categories

