Posted by: lle2010 | March 2, 2011

Week 9 2011 – City by the Water

I recently visited the city of Havre de Grace, MD.  It is a small quaint city in Northeast Maryland at the mouth of the Susquehanna River on the Chesapeake Bay.  I met friends for lunch on a cold, cloudy Sunday afternoon in February.  I arrived early and decided to explore the main street in town.  Being a Sunday and very early in the season, most of the shops were closed.  However, I did manage to find an antique store open and it was fun to browse around and see if I could find any treasures.  Not having a lot of time, I did not find anything, but I have since learned that Havre de Grace is home to five museums, 50 antique vendors and countless festivals.  I will return in the Spring/Summer and see what kind of “damage” I can do to my wallet!  Once my friends arrived we were seated at our table and enjoyed a 3 hour plus lunch laughing and enjoying the view of the water.

This first photo is of the bridge in which the Amtrak trains use.  Each time a train crossed, I was unable to capture that picture.  But this is what I did get.  Because the day was cold and gray, I felt this photo should be a black and white one. 

Canon 40D  18-200 mm at 130 mm  f/11  1/125  ISO 100

I know that at first glance, this next photo looks pretty blah and maybe uninteresting.  I took it because there are so many lines in the image.  If you look you will see vertical, horizontal and angled lines.  They are everywhere.  I found it fascinating.

Canon 40D 18-200 mm at 60 mm  f/9  1/200  ISO 100

These last two were fun to take.  As I was walking to meet my friends, I came across this display outside one of the shops.  It was very colorful on such a drab day and it made me smile.

Canon 40D  18-200 mm at 24 mm  f/10  1/200  ISO 100

This is a close up of the frog in the cart.

 

Canon 40D  18-200 mm at 50 mm  f/11  1/200  ISO 100

Leave a Reply

Categories

